Dallas Cowboys Facts

Dallas Cowboys Facts
The Dallas Cowboys are a professional football team playing in the East Division of the NFC (National Football Conference) of the NFL. The team was established in 1960 by Clint Murchison Jr. Clint had wanted a team for several years but the Washington Redskins owner George Preston Marshall opposed him. Clint bought the rights to the Redskins fight song and used it for bargaining power to enable him to get George's vote. He succeeded and was granted the franchise rights to establish the Dallas Cowboys in the NFL. The Dallas Cowboys have had an extremely successful history in pro football. From 1970 to 1979 they won 105 regular season games and two Super Bowls.
Interesting Dallas Cowboys Facts:
The Dallas Cowboys play at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas. From 1960 to 1971 their home field was Cotton Bowl. From 1971 to 2008 the Dallas Cowboys' home field was Texas Stadium. From 2009 to present they have played at AT&T Stadium.
The Dallas Cowboys have played in 31 Playoff seasons (as of 2014) including years 1966-1973, 1975-1983, 1985, 1991-1996, 1998, 1999, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2009, and 2014.
The Dallas Cowboys have won 22 Division Championships including the NFL Capitol in 1967, 1968, and 1969, as well as the NFC East in years 1970-1973, 1976-1979, 1981, 1985, 1992-1996, 1998, 2007, 2009, and 2014.
The Dallas Cowboys have won 10 Conference Championships including the NFL Eastern in 1966 and 1967, as well as the NFC in 1970, 1971, 1975, 1977, 1978, 1992, 1993, and 1995.
The Dallas Cowboys have won the Super Bowl five times. They won Super Bowl VI, XII, XXVII, XXVIII, and XXX.
The Dallas Cowboys have had several team nicknames including America's Team, Doomsday Defense, The Boys and Big D.
The Dallas Cowboys have 21 former members enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame including Herb Adderley, Troy Aikman, Larry Allen, Lance Alworth, Mike Ditka, Tony Dorsett, Forrest Gregg, Bob Hayes, Michael Irvin, Tom Landry, Bob Lilly, Tommy McDonald, Bill Parcells, Mel Renfro, Deion Sanders, Tex Schramm, Emmitt Smith, Jackie Smith, Roger Staubach, Randy White, and Rayfield Wright.
Members of the Dallas Cowboys Ring of Honor include Drew Pearson (wide receiver), Bob Hayes (wide receiver), Bob Lilly (defensive tackle), Charles Haley (defensive end), Chuck Howley (linebacker), Cliff Harris (safety), Don Meredith (quarterback), Don Perkins (running back), Drew Pearson (wide receiver), Emmitt Smith (running back), Larry Allen (guard), Lee Roy Jordan (linebacker), Mel Renfro (defensive back), Michael Irvin (wide receiver), Randy White (defensive tackle), Rayfield Wright (offensive tackle), Roger Staubach (quarterback), Tex Schramm (general manager), Tom Landry (head coach), Tony Dorsett (running back), and Troy Aikman (quarterback).
The Dallas Cowboys are worth approximately $3.2 billion. This makes them the most valuable NFL team.
The current owner, president, and general manager is Jerry Jones. The head coach is currently (2014) Jason Garrett.
The Dallas Cowboys are tied for the second most valuable team in the world. They are tied with FC Barcelona for second place. The first is Real Madrid.
The Dallas Cowboys team colors are navy, silver, and white.
The team mascot is Rowdy.

Related Links:
Sports Facts
Animals Facts

Educational Videos