Denver Broncos Facts

Denver Broncos Facts
The Denver Broncos are a professional football team playing in the West Division of the AFC (American Football Conference) of the NFL. The team was established in 1959 by Bob Howsam, the minor league baseball owner, and they played their first game against the Boston Patriots on September 9th, 1960, winning 13-10. In 1965 Denver almost lost their franchise but it was saved by a local ownership group. The team went on to win many championships including Super Bowl XXXII and XXXIII. In addition they have won several division championships and appeared in 21 Playoff seasons (as of 2014).
Interesting Denver Broncos Facts:
The Denver Broncos team colors are white, Broncos navy, and Broncos orange.
The Denver Broncos team mascots are Thunder II (a live horse) and Miles (the costume).
The Denver Broncos nickname at one time was Orange Crush.
The Denver Broncos home field was DU Stadium in 1960, Mile High Stadium from 1960 to 2000, and Sports Authority Field at Mile High in Denver, Colorado from 2001 to present.
The Denver Broncos are headquartered in the Paul D. Bowden Memorial Broncos Centre located in Dove Valley, Colorado.
The current owner is Pat Bowlen; the chairman, president and CEO is Joe Ellis.
The current general manager is John Elway; the current head coach is Gary Kubiak.
The Denver Broncos won the AFC Conference championships in 1977, 1987, 1989, 1997, 1998, and 2013.
The Denver Broncos won the AFC West division championships in 1977, 1978, 1984, 1986, 1987, 1989, 1991, 1996, 1998, 2005, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014.
The Denver Broncos have made NFL Playoff appearances in the years 1977-1979, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1987, 1989, 1991, 1993, 1996-1998, 2000, 2003-2005, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014.
Members of the Denver Broncos Ring Of Fame, which was established in 1984 to honor members, include Floyd Little, Rich Jackson, Lionel Taylor, Austin Gonsoulin, Gerald H. Phipps, Bill Thompson, Frank Tripucka, Charley Johnson, Paul Smith, Randy Gradishar, Craig Morton, Haven Moses, Jim Turner, John Elway, Louis Wright, Tom Jackson, Karl Mecklenburg, Dennis Smith, Gene Mingo, Rick Upchurch, Dan Reeves, Ton Nalen, Rod Smith, Shannon Sharpe, Terrell Davis, Steve Atwater, and Gary Zimmerman.
Frank Tripucka's number 18 was retired but Peyton Manning gained Frank's approval to have it re-issued when he signed with the Denver Broncos in 2012. Other Denver Broncos players with retired numbers include John Elway (#7), and Floyd Little (#44).
Denver Broncos team members who have been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame include cornerback #24 Willie Brown (inducted in 1984), quarterback #7 and general manager John Elway (inducted in 2004), offensive tackle #65 Gary Zimmerman (inducted in 2008), running back #44 Floyd Little (inducted in 2010), and tight end #84 Shannon Sharpe in 2011.
There are a number of former Denver Broncos team members who have gone on to broadcasting careers including John Lynch, Terrell Davis, David Diaz-Infante, Brian Griese, Ed McCaffrey, Tom Jackson, Alfred Williams, Mark Schlereth, and Shannon Sharpe.
The television show South Park creators Matt Stone and Trey Parker grew up as Denver Bronco fans and often mention the team on their cartoon.

Related Links:
Sports Facts
Animals Facts

Educational Videos