Indianapolis Colts Facts

Indianapolis Colts Facts
The Indianapolis Colts are a professional football team playing in the South Division of the AFC (American Football Conference) of the NFL. The Colts joined the NFL in 1950 when the AAFC and NFL merged. AT the time they were based in Baltimore, but in 1951 financial trouble caused the team to dissolve. Two seasons later the team re-emerged, but it wasn't until 1984 that the team relocated to Indianapolis, here it had more than 140,000 requests for season tickets in only two weeks. The team narrowly missed playing in Super Bowl XXX, but when on to win Super Bowl XLI.
Interesting Indianapolis Colts Facts:
The Colts' home field was Memorial Stadium from 1953 to 1983, in Baltimore Maryland. From 1984 to 2007 the Indianapolis Colts played at Hoosier Dome (AKA RCA Dome), and from 2008 an on they have played at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana.
The Indianapolis Colts are headquartered in the Indianapolis Colts Football Training Center in Indianapolis, Indiana.
The team colors of the Indianapolis Colts are speed blue and white.
The mascot of the Indianapolis Colts is Blue, an anthropomorphic blue horse.
The current team owner of the Indianapolis Colts is Jim Irsay. The team's general manager is Ryan Grigson, and the head coach is Chuck Pagano.
The Colts won 3 pre-AFL-NFL merger NFL Championships including the years 1958, 1959, and 1968.
The Colts won Super Bowl V (1970) and the Indianapolis Colts won Super Bowl XLI (2006).
The Colts have won 7 conference championships including the NFL Western Conference Championships in 1958, 1959, 1964, and 1968, and the AFC Conference Championships in 1970, 2006, and 2009.
The Colts have won 16 division championships including the NFL Coastal in 1968, the AFC East in 1970, 1975-1977, 1987, and 1999, and the AFC South in 2003-2007, 2009, 2010, 2013, and 2014.
The Colts have made 27 NFL Playoff appearances including 1958, 1959, 1964, 1965, 1968, 1970, 1971, 1975-1977, 1987, 1995, 1996, 1999, 2000, 2002-2010, and 2012-2014.
Former Colts team members with retired numbers include #19 Johnny Unitas, #22 Buddy Young, #24 Lenny Moore, #70 Art Donovan, #77 Jim Parker, #82 Raymond Berry, and #89 Gino Marchetti.
Former Colts who have been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame include Raymond Berry (1973), Art Donovan (1968), Ted Hendricks (1990), John Mackey (1992), Gino Marchetti (1972), Lenny Moore (1975), Jim Parker (1973), Joe Perry (1969), Johnny Unitas (1979), Richard Dent (2011), Eric Dickerson (1999), Marshall Faulk (2011), Weeb Ewbank (1978), Don Shula (1997), and Mike McCormack (1984).
Members of the Indianapolis Colts Ring of Honor include former owner Robert Irsay (inducted in 1996), wide receiver Bill Brooks (inducted in 1998), former head coach Ted Marchibroda (inducted in 2000), offensive tackle and offensive guard Chris Hinton (inducted in 2001), quarterback Jim Harbaugh (inducted in 2005), former head coach Tony Dungy (inducted in 1010), wide receiver Marvin Harrison (inducted in 2011), running back Edgerrin James (inducted in 2012), running back Eric Dickerson (inducted in 2013), and running back Marshall Faulk (inducted in 2013).
Peyton Manning, one of pro-football's most famous players, was drafted to the Indianapolis Colts in 1998. He was released from the roster in 2012.

Related Links:
Sports Facts
Animals Facts

Educational Videos