Wimbledon Facts

Wimbledon Facts
The oldest tennis tournament in the world is the Wimbledon Championships held each year since 1877 in London, England at the All England Club. On July 9, 1877 the inaugural Wimbledon Championship was held, with only one event = The Gentleman's Singles. Spencer Gore won out of 22 competitors. Wimbledon's Championship consists of five main events, five invitational events and five junior events. 15,000 spectators can be held in the principal court which is called Centre Court, and at the south end sits the Royal Box reserved for dignitaries and the Royal Family. Prior to the 2009 Championship a retractable roof was installed in case of rain.
Interesting Wimbledon Facts:
Women's singles and men's doubles were introduced at Wimbledon in 1884, seven years after Spencer Gore won the first event.
In 1905 an American competitor named May Sutton won the women's singles title at Wimbledon. She was the first non-European champion at Wimbledon.
Wimbledon is the only Major tennis championship still being played on grass.
The largest single annual sporting event that is catered in Europe is Wimbledon. Approximately 207,000 meals, 135,000 ice cream cones, 30,000 litres of milk, and 25,000 bottles of champagne are served.
During World War II the Centre Court was ripped through by a bomb, destroying 1200 seats. Nobody was there at the time but it took until 1949 before the court was in top shape again.
In 1957 Althea Gibson became the first black individual to win the Wimbledon singles. She was an American, and defended her title a year later, helping her to be named the Female Athlete of the Year by the Associated Press both years.
Wimbledon currently has 20 courts for play.
Chris Evert Lloyd was the last married woman to date to win the women's singles at Wimbledon. She won in 1981.
The last time a wooden tennis racket was used at Wimbledon was in 1987.
Venus Williams holds the record for fastest serve at 129 miles per hour.
In 2010, 18,000 keyrings with mini tennis balls were sold. It was the best-selling item that year in the gift shop.
Wimbledon traditionally begins on the first Monday that falls between June 20th and 26th each year.
Wimbledon was put on hold from 1915 until 1918 because of World War I, and again from 1940 until 1945 because of World War II.
Winifred McNair and Dora Boothby were the winners of Wimbledon's first Ladies' Double.
Hope Crisp and Agnes Tuckey were the winners of Wimbledon's first Mixed Double.
J.E. Renshaw and W.C. Renshaw were the winners of Wimbledon's first Gentlemen's Double.
Billy Jean King and Martina Navratilova have both won 20 Wimbledon titles, tying for the record.
The maximum number of times a competitor can win the Women Singles is nine times. Martina Navratilova has won the title nine times.
Martina Hingis won a Wimbledon title at the age of 15 years and 282 days in 1996. This was the youngest person to win a Wimbledon title.
Clothing must be submitted to Wimbledon prior to use in Wimbledon to ensure it meets dress codes.

Related Links:
Sports Facts
Animals Facts

Educational Videos