New Hampshire Colony Facts

New Hampshire Colony Facts
The New Hampshire Colony was one of the 13 original colonies in America, and was classified as one of four New England Colonies which also included the Massachusetts Colony, the Rhode Island Colony, and the Connecticut Colony. The original 13 colonies were divided into the New England Colonies, the Middle Colonies, and the Southern Colonies. New Hampshire Colony was founded by Captain John Mason, John Wheelwright, and other colonists in 1622, and was named after the English county where Captain John Mason was raised - Hampshire County.
Interesting New Hampshire Colony Facts:
Captain John Mason was given a land grant from the Council for New England in 1622 which helped him to found the New Hampshire Colony.
The New England Colonies, including the New Hampshire Colony, were dominated by the Puritans who refused to tolerate any religion outside their own.
Major industry in the New Hampshire Colony included fishing, livestock farming, potato farming, manufacturing of textiles and building ships.
The New Hampshire Colony, along with the other three New England Colonies, experienced long, cold winters, and mild summers. The cold temperatures made it more difficult for diseases to thrive, unlike in the warmer climate of the Southern Colonies.
The geography of the New Hampshire Colony included plateaus, mountains, hilly terrain, and low coastal regions. The rocky land made it difficult to plant crops.
Natural resources in the New Hampshire Colony included forests (timber), fur, fish, and whales.
Whales were important to the colonists because the oil could be used in lamps for light.
Despite the rocky terrain and poor soil conditions, people were still able to grow pumpkins, squash, beans, rye, corn, and wheat.
Rum was a common export from the New Hampshire and the other New England Colonies.
The New Hampshire Colony was the first of the original 13 colonies to declare independence from England. This took place six months prior to the signing of the Declaration of Independence.
The major city in the New Hampshire Colony was Concord.
The oldest permanent settlement in New Hampshire is Dover, which was settled in 1623. This was the seventh settlement in the United States.
New Hampshire Colony's second settlement was Portsmouth, in 1630.
In 1641 New Hampshire was claimed by the Massachusetts Colony. It then became known as the Upper Province, until 1679 when it became a Royal Province. In 1688 it became part of Massachusetts again.
In 1741 New Hampshire Colony gained its independence from Massachusetts and was able to elect its own governor.
New Hampshire Colony's first governor was Benning Wentworth. He governed from 1741 to 1766.
New Hampshire's motto is "Live Free or Die" in reference to its determination to declare independence from the Massachusetts Colony.
Over the years New Hampshire has been given several nicknames including the White Mountain State, the Mother of Rivers, the Granite State, and Switzerland of America.
The New Hampshire Colony became a state June 21st, 1788, and it was the first state to have its own state constitution.
New Hampshire was the ninth state to ratify and adapt the U.S. Constitution.

Related Links:
13 Colonies Facts
Animals Facts