South Carolina Colony Facts

South Carolina Colony Facts
The South Carolina Colony was one of the 13 original colonies in America. The 13 original colonies were divided into three regions including the New England Colonies, the Middle Colonies, and the Southern Colonies. The South Carolina Colony was one of the five Southern Colonies which also included the North Carolina Colony, the Georgia Colony, the Virginia Colony, and the Maryland Colony. The South Carolina Colony was originally one colony along with the North Carolina, which was founded in 1633 under the Charter of Carolina. In 1712 the original colony was divided into North and South Carolina. In 1729 the South Carolina Colony became a royal colony. The name 'Carolina' originated from the Latin word for Charles - 'Carolus'.
Interesting South Carolina Colony Facts:
The original colony that encompassed both North and South Carolina was founded by the Lords Proprietors under a Royal Charter granted by King Charles II.
The South Carolina Colony was originally named the Province of South Carolina before being referred to as the South Carolina Colony, and eventually South Carolina.
The South Carolina Colony allowed for religious freedom, but relied heavily on slavery for its prosperity in plantation farming.
The South Carolina Colony's original settlers were English plantation owners who relied on slavery to keep their operations running and profitable.
The South Carolina Colony plantation grew a variety of crops including cotton, tobacco, vegetables, fruit, and livestock.
The plantations in the South Carolina Colony were often massive. They included a main house, slave quarters, barns, a smokehouse, blacksmith shop, and laundry, in addition to the farm and agricultural lands.
Items that could not be made on the plantations were acquired by trading for the agricultural products they grew. Items they had to acquire through trade often included dishes, shoes, thread, and farming tools.
Natural resources in the South Carolina Colony included forests, fish, and land suitable for farming and large plantations.
The warm climate of the Southern Colonies made it suitable for farming and agricultural pursuits most of the year. The downside to the warmer climate was that it was much easier for diseases to thrive and spread. Winters and cold climates could help to slow the spread of disease.
The population of the South Carolina Colony was largely dominated by African-Americans in the late 1700s due to the prevalence of slavery.
During the colonial period the South Carolina Colony region was hit by four major hurricanes.
South Carolina leaders on the road to independence included Christopher Gadsden, Arthur Middleton, and Henry Laurens.
In 1776 South Carolina set up their own independent government and John Rutledge was appointed president.
The South Carolina Colony ratified the United States Constitution in 1788, making it the eighth U.S. state.
In 1861 South Carolina seceded from the Union.
The first shots fired during the Civil War were fired in South Carolina's Fort Sumter.
South Carolina eventually rejoined the Union in 1868.
Because of war and destruction and the abolishment of slavery in South Carolina, the economy suffered. It had been dependent largely on agriculture and the free labor was gone.

Related Links:
13 Colonies Facts
Animals Facts
North Carolina Colony Facts
Southern Colonies Facts
Georgia Colony Facts
13 Colonies Timeline
13 Colonies Facts for Kids
South Carolina State
Virginia Colony Facts
Maryland Colony Facts
13 Colonies Map: 13 colonies names matching map game