Click beetles Facts

Click beetles Facts
Click beetles are insects that belong to the group of elater beetles. There are more than 9.300 species of click beetles that can be found in warm areas around the world. Click beetles inhabit densely vegetated areas. They live in the soil, on the plants, inside the logs or under the bark of various trees. Number of most species of click beetles is large and stable in the wild. Click beetles are not on the list of endangered species.
Interesting Click beetles Facts:
Click beetles can reach from 0.47 to 1.57 inches in length.
Most click beetles are brown or black in color with yellow blotches and dots on dorsal side of the body.
Click beetles have elongated, rectangular body that consists of tough segments, 3 pairs of legs and 2 pairs of wings.
Most species of click beetles are nocturnal creatures (active during the night). Click beetles that inhabit temperate areas are active during the day (diurnal).
Click beetles can be herbivores or omnivores, depending on the developmental stage. Larvae eat roots and seed. Diet of adult click beetles consists of nectar, pollen, flowers and soft-bodied insects such as aphids.
Name "click beetle" refers to the clicking sound which these beetles produce. They have flexible connection (that acts like elastic device) between the first and second thoracic segment. When click beetle lands on the backs, it arches the body upwards and quickly straightens it. This movement produces loud snapping sound (click) and catapults the beetle into the air where it can rotate the body to land on the feet. Click beetles also use clicking sound to startle the predators.
Clicks beetles are also able to pretend to be dead to repel the predators. They can lay motionless for couple of hours.
Natural enemies of click beetles are birds, bats, frogs, lizards and praying mantis.
Some species of click beetles are solitary, while other prefer to live in the groups.
Click beetles communicate via senses of touch and smell. Some species are able to produce light in specially designed structures.
Clicks beetles (both larvae and adults) hibernate during the winter.
Mating season of click beetles takes place during the summer. Female lays tens or hundreds of eggs on the plants or into the soil.
Click beetles undergo 4 developmental stages: egg, larva, pupa and adult insect. Larval stage can last up to 4 years. Larva lives under the ground. Pupa (dormant stage) lasts much shorter. It usually ends after couple of days or weeks, when adult insect finally emerge from the cocoon.
Larvae of click beetles, also known as wireworms, are agricultural pests that can inflict serious damage on the potato, wheat and corn fields.
Click beetles can survive from one to couple of years, depending on the species.

Related Links:
Animal Facts
Animals Facts