Mongoose Facts

Mongoose Facts
Mongooses are weasel-like creatures that belong to the group of Carnivores. There are 33 mongoose species; they live in Europe, Asia and Africa. Mongooses like rocky areas, but they can be found in forests and semi-aquatic areas. Since they are easily adaptable, they are not endangered.
Interesting Mongoose Facts:
Smallest mongoose (dwarf mongoose) can reach 10 inch in length and weigh up to 0,5 pound. Largest (white-tailed mongoose) can reach 28-30 inches in length and weigh up to 8 pounds.
They have grayish or brown fur, and some of them have striped coat and ringed tail.
Mongooses are carnivores (meat-eaters). They eat rodents, birds, frogs, insects, eggs.
They use solid object to crash the shell of the egg or they throw eggs to the hard surface to break them.
Mongooses are very fast and agile creatures. They can defeat venomous snake thanks to these features.
They have become immune to snake toxins and they can survive more than one snake bite in their lifetime.
Mongooses live in abandoned burrows. They rarely dig burrows on their own.
Some mongooses are solitary, while other live in large groups called "packs".
Large group of mongooses protect their young by attacking predators with their sharp claws.
They have non-retractable claws, which mean that they can't hide them when they want. Their claws are visible all the time.
Mongooses produce alarm calls when they spot a danger.
Once annually, they produce high-pitched sounds called "giggling" to inform others that they are ready for mating.
They also use scents to announce their reproductive status and to mark territory.
Female has one litter per year that consists of 4 babies. They are born blind.
Mongooses live around 4 years in the wild and up to 20 years in captivity.

Related Links:
Animal Facts
Animals Facts