Peacock Facts

Peacock Facts
Peacock Most people use term "peacock" to describe both male and female birds, but peacock is actually a name that refers to male peafowl. Peafowl belong to pheasant family. These birds are native to Asia. There are two species of peafowl: Indian Peafowl and Green Peafowl. Both types are endangered because of the habitat loss, smuggling and predation.
Interesting Peacock Facts:
Male peafowl is called peacock while female is called peahen.
They are one of the largest flying birds. Their length (including tail) can reach 5 feet. They can weigh between 8-13 pounds.
They are omnivores (eat both plants and animals). They like to eat insects, arthropods, amphibians, flowers, seeds…
Their main predators are tigers, leopards, mongoose… When they sense a danger, they fly and hide in the trees. They spend nights on trees for the same reason.
Family of peafowl is called "bevy".
Group of peafowl is called "party".
Beautiful and colorful tails are characteristic only for the males.
Colors of the tail will look different every time you change the angle of looking because of the reflection of the light. Tail feathers have eye-like spots, surrounded with red, green, gold and red feathers.
Tail makes 60% of peacock's total length.
Peahen chooses its partner by the length, width and coloration of the tail.
Peacocks are polygamous (mate with more than one female) and usually form a harem that consists of 2-5 females. Left alone peacocks are very sad and heart-broken.
Although very beautiful, peacocks produce unpleasant sounds.
Females lay 3-5 eggs. Young birds will hatch after 28 days.
One day old baby peafowl can walk, eat and drink without assistance.
Peafowl live up to 20 years both in the wild and in the captivity.

Related Links:
Animal Facts
Animals Facts