George R. R. Martin Facts

George R. R. Martin Facts
George R.R. Martin is an American fantasy, horror, and science fiction writer best known for his series A Song of Ice and Fire which was adapted into the HBO series Game of Thrones. He was born George Raymond Martin on September 20th, 1948, in Bayonne, New Jersey, to Raymond Collins Martin, a longshoreman, and Margaret Brady Martin. George's desire to travel encouraged his imagination as a child and he read constantly. He became a comic book fan as a teenager, and began writing for fanzines. George earned a Journalism B.S. in 1970 from Northwestern University in Illinois and earned his M.S. in 1971. George began selling his short stories in 1970. His first sale was "The Hero", which sold to Galaxy Magazine.
Interesting George R. R. Martin Facts:
George took the additional name of Richard when he was confirmed at the age of 13. His name became George R.R. Martin.
George R.R. Martin is often referred to as GRRM.
As a child George sold monster stories to his friends for pennies. He also wrote stories about turtles in a mythical kingdom.
In the 1970s George R.R. Martin published the short story collection A Song for Lya (1976), the novel Dying of the Light (1977), and the short story collection Song of Stars and Shadows (1977).
George R.R. Martin married Gale Burnick in 1975. They were married until 1979. He remarried in 2011, to Parris McBride.
In the 1980s George R.R. Martin published The Ice Dragon, a young adult fiction novel; Windhaven, a novel he wrote with Lisa Tuttle; Sandkings, a short story collection; Fevre Dream, a novel; Songs the Dead Men Sing, a short story collection; The Armageddon Rag, a novel; Nightflyers, a short story collection; Tuf Voyaging, a novel; Portraits of His Children, a short story collection; and The Skin Trade, a novella.
In the 1990s George R.R. Martin's most famous series A Song of Ice and Fire was published. This included the 1996 novel A Game of Thrones, the 1998 novel A Clash of Kings, and the 2000 novel A Storm of Swords. The series continued with A Feast for Crows (2005), A Dance with Dragons (2011), The Princess and the Queen (2013), The Rogue Prince (2014), and the announced titles The Winds of Winter, and A Dream of Spring.
In 1998 the first novel in the series Tales of Dunk and Egg was published titled The Hedge Knight. It was followed with The Sworn Sword (2003), and The Mystery Knight (2010).
George R.R. Martin has written scripts for many television shows including The Twilight Zone, Beauty and the Beast, and Game of Thrones.
George R.R. Martin has also worked as an editor for New Voices, and Wild Cards, and has co-edited several books including Warriors (2010), Songs of Love and Death (2011), and Down These Strange Streets (2011).
The list of awards that George R.R. Martin has won for his writing is extensive and includes multiple Hugo Awards, Nebula Awards, Premio Ignotus Awards, Locus Awards, World Fantasy Awards, and the Bram Stoker Award.

Related Links:
Authors Facts
Animals Facts
Literature Summary
Literature Quizzes