Hugh Lofting Facts

Hugh Lofting Facts
Hug Lofting was a British writer best known for creating the classic children's character Doctor Dolittle. He was born Hugh John Lofting on January 14th, 1886, in Maidenhead, Berkshire, England, to John Brien Lofting and Elizabeth Agnes Lofting. He had five siblings, one an older brother Hilary who moved to Australia and also became a writer. Hugh was educated at Mount St. Mary's College, and went on to study in the United States at MIT for a year. He graduated and became a civil engineer, married, had children, and went on to join the Irish Guards to serve in World War I before becoming a writer. While away at war he decided that he would send letters to his children that told stories of a fictional character, rather than send them letters about the horrors of the war. His letters would go on to be his inspiration for his Doctor Dolittle novels.
Interesting Hugh Lofting Facts:
Hugh Lofting was wounded seriously in World War I. He moved with his wife and children to Killingworth, Connecticut, where he wrote most of the novels in the Doctor Dolittle series.
The Doctor Dolittle series is set in the 1840s Victoria England era. Doctor Dolittle's character was a doctor in West Country's Puddleby-on-the-Marsh. Doctor Dolittle's amazing ability was that he could speak to animals.
The Story of Doctor Dolittle was published in 1920. It was followed by The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle (1922), Doctor Dolittle's Post Office (1923), Doctor Dolittle's Circus (1924), Doctor Dolittle's Caravan (1926), Doctor Dolittle's Garden (1927), Doctor Dolittle in the Moon (1928), Doctor Dolittle's Return (1933), Doctor Dolittle's Birthday Book (1936), Doctor Dolitte and the Secret Lake (1948), Doctor Dolittle and the Green Canary (1950), and Doctor Dolittle's Puddleby Adventures (1952).
Hugh Lofting also wrote books outside of the Doctor Dolittle series including The Story of Mrs. Tubbs (1923), Tommy, Tilly, and Mrs. Tubbs (1936). These two were picture books for a younger audience. Mrs. Tubbs character was able to speak to animals just like Doctor Dolittle.
High Lofting also wrote Porridge Poetry (1924), Noisy Nora (1929), The Twilight of Magic (1930), and Victory for the Slain (1942).
Victory for the Slain was the only book Hugh Lofting wrote that was aimed at adults and not children. It was a seven-part poem that shows the futility of war. He was a supporter of peace, not war, despite having served during World War I.
Hugh Lofting's first book The Story of Doctor Dolittle won him the 1958 Lewis Carroll Shelf Award.
Hugh Lofting won the 1923 Newbery Medal for The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle (1922).
Hugh Lofting married a total of three times in his life, and he had three children, Elizabeth, Colin, and Christopher.
Hugh Lofting's older brother Hilary Lofting also became a novelist, journalist, and travel writer in Australia.
Hugh Lofting's Doctor Dolittle series has been adapted to both film and television many times. His character is still popular today with children.
Hugh Lofting died on September 26th, 1947, at the age of 61, in Topanga, California.

Related Links:
Authors Facts
Animals Facts
Literature Summary
Literature Quizzes