Lucy Maud Montgomery Facts

Lucy Maud Montgomery Facts
Lucy Maud Montgomery was a Canadian writer best known for her series Anne of Green Gables. She was born on November 30th, 1874 in Clifton, Prince Edward Island, to Clara Woolner Macneill Montgomery and Hugh John Montgomery. Lucy's mother died when she was 21 months old, of tuberculosis, and her grief-stricken father gave custody of her to her maternal grandparents. Lucy was raised in their strict and very lonely household, which she believed help to fuel her creative mind. Her first poem was published in 1890. She earned her teaching certificate from Prince of Wales College in one year instead of two, and attended Dalhousie University in Halifax studying literature for two years. Lucy taught and wrote stories in her spare time, which began being published in 1897.
Interesting Lucy Maud Montgomery Facts:
Lucy Maud Montgomery's first book Anne of Green Gables was published in 1908. She wrote and published several more titles in this series including Anne of Avonlea (1909), Anne of the Island (1915), Anne of Windy Poplars (1936), Anne's House of Dreams (1917), Anne of Ingleside (1939), Rainbow Valley (1919), and Rilla of Ingleside (1921).
Anne of Green Gables' character Anne Shirley was an 11 year old orphan sent to a couple by mistake who wanted to adopt a boy to work on their P.E.I. farm. The series focuses on Anne's life as she adapts to her new home, and as she grows up.
Lucy Maud Montgomery married Ewen Macdonald in 1911, and together they had three sons. Their second son was stillborn.
Lucy Maud Montgomery also wrote a trilogy beginning with the book Emily of New Moon (1923), Emily Climbs (1925), and ending with Emily's Quest (1927).
In addition to the Emily trilogy and Anne series Lucy Maud Montgomery also wrote several short stories and collections, poetry, non-fiction, and autobiographies.
Lucy Maud Montgomery wrote a two-part series of books titled Pat of Silver Bush (1933), and Mistress Pat (1935).
Lucy Maud Montgomery wrote another two-part series of books titled The Story Girl (1911), and The Golden Road (1913).
Lucy Maud Montgomery also wrote several standalone books including Kilmeny of the Orchard (1910), The Blue Castle (1926), Magic for Marigold (1929), A Tangled Web (1931), and Jane of Lantern Hill (1937).
Anne of Green Gables has sold more than 50 million copies around the world, and has been translated into 20 different languages. It is also used for teaching purposes all over the world.
Anne of Green Gables was so popular that it was made into several TV movies, film, TV series, and animated series, plays, and musicals.
Lucy Maud Montgomery died on April 24th, 1942 from coronary thrombosis.
Lucy Maud Montgomery's Memorial Garden is located in Halton Hills, Ontario where she lived from 1926 to 1935.
At the University of Prince Edward Island the L.M. Montgomery Institute was founded, in 1993 to promote and study the works and life of the beloved author.
Lucy's major collections are located at the University of Guelph in Ontario.
Both Lucy's Leaskdale, Ontario home and her Cavendish home in P.E.I. have been designated National Historical Sites of Canada.
In 1943 the Canadian government designated Lucy Maud Montgomery a Person of National Historical Significance.
In 1975 Canada Post issued stamps in honor of L.M. Montgomery.

Related Links:
Authors Facts
Animals Facts
Literature Summary
Literature Quizzes