Marc Brown Facts

Marc Brown Facts
Marc Brown is an American children's author and illustrator best known for his series Arthur and its spin-off series. He was born November 25th, 1945 in Erie, Pennsylvania. Along with his three sisters, Marc enjoyed many stories told by Thora his grandmother when he was growing up. Marc was only six when his talent for drawing was recognized. He began using watercolors, thanks to his art teacher, while attending high school, which became his main method of illustrations in his later career. Marc went on to major in graphic design at the Cleveland Institute of Art, and following graduation Houghton Mifflin publishers offered him a deal.
Interesting Marc Brown Facts:
Marc tried many different jobs including driving truck, being a short-order cook, and a college teacher but his talent for illustration and writing children's books won out.
Marc Brown married Laurie Krasny. Together they had two sons named Tucker Eliot and Tolon Adam, as well as a daughter named Eliza Morgan.
Marc Brown is believed to have developed the character Arthur while telling one of his sons bedtime stories while he was young.
Marc Brown's first book in his Arthur series was published in 1976. It was titled Arthur's Nose. He followed this with Arthur's Eyes in 1979.
In the 1980s Marc Brown published several more books in the Arthur series including Arthur's Valentine, The True Francine, Arthur Goes to Camp, Arthur's Halloween, Arthur's April Fool, Arthur's Thanksgiving, Arthur's Christmas, Arthur's Tooth, Arthur's Teacher Trouble, Arthur's Baby, Arthur's Valentine, D.W. All Wet, and Arthur's Birthday.
In the 1990s Marc Brown published many more books in the Arthur series including Arthur's Pet Business, Arthur Meets the President, Arthur Babysits, D.W. thinks big, D.W. rides again, Arthur's Family Vacation, Arthur's New Puppy, Arthur's First Sleepover, Arthur's Chicken Pox, Arthur's TV Trouble, and more than 20 other titles in the same series.
Marc Brown published five more books in the Arthur series between 2000 and 2011.
In addition to the original Arthur series Marc Brown published beginner books with Arthur as the main character, as well as chapter books, audiobooks, and paperbacks.
Marc Brown worked as the illustrator on several books including R.L. Stine's The Little Shop of Monsters', Judy Sierra's Born to Read, ZooZical, and Wild About You, Deborah Hautzig's Little Witch's Big Night, and Happy Birthday, Little Witch, Isaac Asimov's What Makes the Sun Shine?, and Rosemary Wells' The Gulps, among many other books.
Marc Brown has published several books with his wife Laurene Krasny Brown including Dinosaur's Travel, Dinosaurs Alive and Well!, How to Be a Friend: A Guide to Making Friends and Keeping Them, When Dinosaurs Die: A Guide to Understanding Death, and Dinosaurs Divorce.
Marc Brown has earned a total of three Daytime Emmy Awards to date for the Arthur television series adapted from his children's series.
The main inspiration for the many titles in Marc Brown's Arthur series has been his children and the experiences of their childhoods.
Marc Brown currently lives in Hingham, Massachusetts with his wife and daughter as his sons are now grown.

Related Links:
Authors Facts
Animals Facts
Literature Summary
Literature Quizzes