Galapagos Islands Facts

Galapagos Islands Facts
The Galapagos Islands is a volcanic island archipelago made up of 21 islands located on both sides of the equator in the Pacific Ocean. They are part of the Republic of Ecuador. The main language spoken in the Galapagos Islands is Spanish. The Galapagos Islands were first visited by non-South Americans in 1535 when the Bishop of Panama happened upon the islands on a voyage to Peru. It is believed that South Americans had been visiting the island since the pre-Columbian era, although no permanent settlements existed prior to the arrival of the Spanish in the 1500s.
Interesting Galapagos Islands Facts:
The coat of arms of the Galapagos Islands contains the Galapagos tortoise, volcanic cones, blue sea, and a sail boat.
The Galapagos Islands are also referred to as the Enchanted Islands.
The Galapagos Islands were created from volcanic lava and are still growing today. They are believed to be roughly 4 million years old, making them one of the youngest archipelagos on Earth.
The Galapagos Islands became a National Park in 1959, A UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1978, and was named a Biological Marine Reserve in 1986.
In 1990 the Galapagos Islands became a whale sanctuary.
The Galapagos Islands are one of the most popular destinations for tourists, despite the difficulty in getting there.
There have been 13 volcano eruptions in the Galapagos Islands area in the past 100 years due to the fact that there are three tectonic plates meeting in the area.
The majority of the inhabitants of the Galapagos Islands live in Santa Cruz. In total the population of the islands is approximately 25,000 people.
The main islands of the Galapagos Islands include Baltra Island, Bartolome Island, Darwin Island, Espanola Island, Fernandina Island, Floreana Island, Genovesa Island, Isabela Island, Marchena Island, North Seymour Island, North Seymour Island, Pinzon Island, Pinta Island, Rabida Island, San Cristobal Island, Santa Cruz Island, Santa Fe Island, Santiago Island, and Wolf Island.
The minor islands of the Galapagos Islands include Daphne Major, South Plaza Island, Namesless Island, and Roca Redonda Island.
The Galapagos Islands were once an English pirate refuge. Pirate loot was often stashed there.
Charles Darwin visited the Galapagos Islands when he was 26, in 1835 on a tour aboard the M.S. Beagle, with Captain Robert Fitzroy.
Many believe that it was Charles Darwin's visit to the Galapagos Islands that helped lead to his Theory of Evolution.
The 13 species of finches on the Galapagos Islands are often referred to as Darwin's finches.
Most of the endemic animals that live on the Galapagos Islands are not afraid of people.
It is believed that the first plants of the Galapagos Islands arrived by seeds being carried by ocean currents. Animals are believed to have arrived on tree trunks of natural rafts.
Approximately 150,000 tourists arrive in the Galapagos Islands every year.
Fresh water is a scarce commodity on the islands.
There is a pink iguana species on Isabela Island.
Bats and mice rats are the only endemic land mammals on the Galapagos Islands.

Related Links:
Earth Systems Facts
Animals Facts