Jak and Daxter Games Facts

Jak and Daxter Games Facts
Jak and Daxter games are a series of video games developed for Sony Computer Entertainment by Jason Rubin and Andy Gavin. The first game in the series was released on December 3rd, 2001 for the PlayStation 2. Jak and Daxter games are a type of story-based platform that entertains players with puzzles, racing, and action. When PlayStation 3 was released many of the games were re-released for the new console and Sony has announced that the games will also be ported to the PlayStation 4 in 2017. Jak and Daxter games are set in a fictional world with ancient Precursor ruins and natural environments. The life source is an elemental substance called Eco. Jak and Daxter games have sold more than 15 million copies.
Interesting Jak and Daxter Games Facts:
The Jak and Daxter games were the first to have an unbroken 3D world - making the franchise groundbreaking in its technology. This means that there were no loading screens to break up the play.
Jak was designed originally to be a humanoid wolf-like character but as the design process continued the decision was made to make him more human. Jak's character design was inspired by manga and western cartoon characters.
Originally Jak was a silent character but due to feedback from players, the decision was made to give him dialogue.
Daxter is Jak's sidekick, a half otter, half weasel creature. Some fans of the Jak and Daxter games like Daxter while others believe he is annoying. In 2001 Daxter was named 'best Original Game Character of the Year' by the Game Developer's Conference.
There were only two game designers for Jak and Daxter - Jason Rubin and Andy Gavin - who together make up Naughty Dog, their design company.
In the end credits of Jak 2 there is a memorial to a black lab that was a pet of Naughty Dog designers. His name was Morgan and he died during the game's development.
Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy was released in 2001 for the PlayStation 2, through Sony Computer Entertainment.
Jak II was released in 2003 for the PlayStation 2, through Sony Computer Entertainment.
Jak 3 was released in 2004 for the PlayStation 2, through Sony Computer Entertainment.
The Lost Frontier was released in 2009 for the PlayStation 2 and the PlayStation Portable.
Spin offs of the Jak and Daxter games include Jak X:Combat Racing - released in 2005, Daxter - released in 2006, PlayStation Move Heroes - released in 2011, Jak and Daxter Collection - released in 2012, and PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale - released in 2012.
Jak and Daxter have gone on to be featured in other media including Ratchet: Deadlocked, LittleBigPlanet 2, Karting, Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time, Hot Shots Golf Fore!, Ratchet & Clank, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune, PAIN, Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception, The Last of Us, and The Order of 1886.
At one point there had been talk of doing a reboot of the series but this was abandoned when the developers determined their heart wasn't in it enough to do the series and the fans justice.

Related Links:
Games Facts
Animals Facts