Hunger Games Facts

Hunger Games Facts
The Hunger Games is a trilogy written by author Suzanne Collins. The story takes place in a dystopian world called Panem, in a post-apocalyptic North America. The main city is Capitol City, and it is surrounded by 12 very poor districts. The protagonist in the trilogy is Katniss Everdeen, who lives in the poorest region. The Hunger Games is an annual event in which one boy and one girl (tributes) from each district must compete in a fight to the death. The Hunger Games are punishment for past attempts by the districts to rebel. The winning tribute is awarded, along with their district, with supplies, riches, and food. The three books in The Hunger Games trilogy are The Hunger Games (2008), Catching Fire (2009), and Mockingjay (2010).
Interesting Hunger Games Facts:
The author of the Hunger Games was a trained sword fighter, but doesn't believe she would compete well in the games.
The author of the Hunger Games was a fanatic for Greek mythology as a child. Greek mythology inspired her to write The Hunger Games.
The author of The Hunger Games did not intend to write a trilogy but the story line compelled her to continue.
The author has stated that she found writing the violence and death among the young people to be very difficult.
Many believe that Denver, Colorado, is the setting for Capitol City in The Hunger Games.
The Hunger Games is popular around the world. It was translated into over 50 languages.
There is a poisonous berry in the story called nightlock. They are supposed to kill someone in less than a minute if they consume them.
When the movie for The Hunger Games was made and preparing for release in theatres, it broke a record for the most advance tickets sold in one day, four weeks before release.
Every book in the trilogy is broken into three sections containing nine chapters each.
Some of the main characters in The Hunger Games are Katniss Everdeen, Peeta Mellark, Gale Hawthorne, Haymitch Abernathy, Effie Trinket, Cinna, and President Coriolanus Snow.
There were at least 30 actresses that auditioned to play the role of Katniss in The Hunger Games movie. They included Emma Roberts, Shailene Woodley, and Abigail Breslin. Jennifer Lawrence won the role.
It cost $100 million to shoot the film version of The Hunger Games. It was filmed in North Carolina, with as many as 5,000 people working as extras, main actors, staff, and crew.
It took 1,800 handmade costumes to dress the extras in Capitol City in the film.
Jennifer Lawrence, who landed the role of Katniss, had the nickname 'Plays with Fire' when she was a child.
When released as a film The Hunger Games received excellent reviews just as it did when it was released as a book. The trilogy has been made into three movies as well.
The first printing of The Hunger Games was 50,000 copies but it was increased to 200,000 twice.
In 2008 The Hunger Games reached the New York Times Best Seller list and stayed there for 100 consecutive weeks.

Related Links:
Literature Facts
Animals Facts