Confucianism Facts

Confucianism Facts
Confucianism is a type of religion based on ethics and philosophy developed by the Chinese philosopher Confucius, who lived from 551 to 478 BC. Confucius, also referred to as Master Kong or Kong Fuzi taught a system of philosophical, political, social and moral beliefs that went on to have a great influence on East Asia's history and culture. Confucius was born in Lu, in the Shantung Province, into poverty. His father died when he was very young and his mother began to teach him. After marrying Confucius had teachers of the six arts, and he himself began to teach when he was in his thirties. In his fifties he began to develop and teach his vision, which he did until his death at the age of 73.
Interesting Confucianism Facts:
Confucius married when he was 19.
Confucius worked as a stable manager and bookkeeper before he married.
The six arts that Confucius was schooled in were archery, music, arithmetic, calligraphy, charioteering and ritual. He also studied history and poetry.
Confucius tried to bring his ideas about morals, politics, society, and education to the government but his ideas were not taken seriously.
Confucius left his country to find a feudal state that would accept his ideas.
Confucius spent the next 12 years in exile, learning and teaching his vision.
When Confucius was 67 he returned home and taught and wrote.
Confucianism is mainly practiced in Vietnam, Korea, Japan and China, but it is also practiced in some places in North America.
Confucianism promotes the idea that people should live with moral virtue and honesty, while striving for ideal social relationships.
Confucius was not the founder of Confucianism - he took outdated ideas and brought them back to life.
Confucianism teaches five virtues that dictate how a person should live and behave.
Confucianism's first virtue is Ren, which means 'humaneness', or 'benevolence'.
Confucianism's second virtue is Yi which means righteousness and honesty.
Confucianism's third virtue Li which means proper behavior and propriety.
Confucianism's fourth virtue is Zhi which means knowledge or wisdom.
Confucianism's fifth virtue is Xin which means sincerity and fidelity.
Confucianism focuses on morality. Social harmony is its ultimate goal.
Confucianism has sacred texts including the Lun-yu (its most sacred scripture).
The Confucian Canon consists of the Five Classics and the Four Books.
The Five Classics include Shu Ching (Classic of History), Shih Ching (Classic of Odes), I Ching (Classic of Changes), Ch'un Ching (Spring and Autumn Annals), and Li Ching (Classic of Rites).
The Four Books include Lun Yu (Confucius' Analects), Chung Yung (Doctrine of the Mean), Ta Hsueh (Great Learning), and Meng Tzu (Mencius).
In Confucianism the path to salvation is achieved through behavior leading to social equality rather than behavior based on punishment or reward after death.
Confucianism was mainstream in China until the 1900s when radicals determined that it was a major obstacle to China's modernization. It was repressed in the People's Republic of China's Cultural Revolution. However there are still followers of Confucianism today.
Approximately 6.3 million people follow Confucianism around the world.

Related Links:
Religion Facts
Animals Facts