Aegean Sea Facts

Aegean Sea Facts
The Aegean Sea is located in the Mediterranean Sea between the Anatolian and Greek peninsulas between Greece and Turkey. It connects to the Marmara Sea and Black Sea in the north. Originally the Aegean Sea was known as the Archipelago. It is believed that the Aegean Sea may have been named after the ancient Greek town Aegae, or the Amazon queen Aegea, or a sea goat Aigaion. The Aegean Sea covers an area of 83,000 square miles.
Interesting Aegean Sea Facts:
The Aegean Sea has a maximum length of 430 miles and maximum width of 250 miles. It is considered to be an elongated embayment between the Anatolian and Greek peninsulas.
The maximum depth of the Aegean Sea is 11,624 feet, located east of Crete.
The Aegean Sea is referred to as the White Sea in some south Slavic languages.
The Aegean Islands include
Rhodes, Karpathos, Kasos, Crete, Antikythera, and Kythera islands delimit the Aegean Sea on the south.
The Aegean Islands include Crete, Dodecanese, Saronic Island, Cyclades, Northern Sporades, East Aegean Islands, and Northeastern Aegean Islands.
The coastline of the Aegean Sea as it sits now dates back to 4000 BC. Prior to this the sea was 130 meters lower.
Two of the main islands in the Aegean Sea belong to Turkey, including Bozcaada and Gokceada.
Sea life in the Aegean Sea includes seals, dolphins, whales, and sea turtles, and one fisherman reported seeing a great white shark a few decades ago.
Jellyfish, scorpion fish, and crocodiles are more dangerous than sharks in the waters of the Aegean Sea.

Related Links:
Seas Facts
Animals Facts