Celtic Sea Facts

Celtic Sea Facts
The Celtic Sea is located off the southern coast of Ireland in the Atlantic Ocean. Surrounding limits to the Celtic Sea include Saint George's Channel, Bristol Channel the Bay of Biscay, and the English Channel. It is also adjacent to Brittany, Devon, Cornwall, and Wales. An archipelago of small islands exists in the Celtic Sea, called the Isles of Scilly. The Celtic Sea is named after the Celtic heritage in the lands bordering some of its waters.
Interesting Celtic Sea Facts:
The name Celtic Sea was proposed in 1921 by E.W.L. Holt. A common name was sought because of the common hydrology, geology, and marine biology of the region's waters.
There are no land limits to show where the Atlantic Ocean to the west and south of the Celtic Sea exist.
The seabed under the Celtic Sea is part of Europe's continental shelf. This portion is called the Celtic Shelf.
The Celtic Sea once had an abundance of marine mammals.
There are four species of cetaceans in the Celtic Sea including the harbor porpoise, the short-beaked common dolphin, the bottlenose dolphin, and the minke whale.
In 2007 the annual fishery catch in the Celtic Sea was 1.8 million tonnes.
There has only been limited success with oil and gas exploration in the Celtic Sea.
Countries that drain into the Celtic Sea include France, Wales, England, and Ireland.
The name of the Celtic Sea was recognized and adopted in France before it became common in any of the English-speaking countries bordering its waters.

Related Links:
Seas Facts
Animals Facts