East China Sea Facts

East China Sea Facts
The East China Sea is located in the Pacific Ocean, bordered by the Asian continent to its west, the South China Sea to its south, and Japan's Ryukyu and Kyushu Islands to its east. It connects to the Sea of Japan via Korea Strait. The East China Sea opens to the Yellow Sea in its northern waters. China, Taiwan, Japan, and South Korea border the East China Sea.
Interesting East China Sea Facts:
The East China Sea covers an area of approximately 482,000 square miles.
The largest river emptying into the East China Sea is the Yangtze River.
There are submerged reefs in East China Sea's northern region including Yajiao Rock, Hupijiao Rock, and Socotra Rock.
East China Sea is one of the Four Seas in Chinese literature and the other three are also named for the directions.
Between 1849 and 1892 American whalers hunted in the East China Sea.
The economic zones in the East China Sea are disputed between South Korea, Japan, and People's Republic of China.
The East China Sea is considered to be relatively shallow. Close to three-quarters of the sea reaches depths of less than 650 feet and the average depth is 1,145 feet.
Weather in the East China Sea region is dominated by the monsoon winds.
Most fishing is done by locals in small boats. They fish for shellfish, sardines, shrimp, tuna, mackerel, sea breams and other species.
Seaweeds is commonly harvest in the East China Sea.
There have been deposits of gas and oil discovered under the East China Sea's continental shelf resulting in disputes.

Related Links:
Seas Facts
Animals Facts