Gulf of Guinea Facts

Gulf of Guinea Facts
The Gulf of Guinea is located in the Atlantic Ocean's most northern region, between Gabon's Cape Lopez and Liberia's Cape Palmas. There are many islands located in the Gulf Of Guinea. It covers an area of approximately 910,000 square miles. The name Guinea is thought to have originated from somewhere within the region but it is not known exactly.
Interesting Gulf of Guinea Facts:
It has been said that the name Guinea originated from Ghana. The name Guinea was also used in West Africa's south coast and Southern Africa's west coast.
The Niger River is the main river flowing into the Gulf of Guinea. The Volta River also flows into the gulf.
Countries that are considered to be in the Gulf of Guinea's basin include Liberia, the Ivory Coast, Ghana, Togo, Benin, Nigeria, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Sao Tome, Principe, Congo Republic, DR Congo, and Angola.
There are many islands in the Gulf of Guinea, including Annobon Island, Bobowasi Island, Bioko Island, Corsico Island, Elobey Grande and Elobey Chico, Sao Tome, and Principe.
The Bight of Benin is located along the coast of the Gulf of Guinea. This region is also known historically as the Slave Coast.
The Bight of Biafra, an extension of the Slave Coast, extends from the Bight of Benin to Cape Lopez along the coast of the Gulf of Guinea.
The largest islands in the Gulf of Guinea form a southwest to northeast chain. They make up part of the volcanoes known as the Cameroon line of volcanoes.

Related Links:
Seas Facts
Animals Facts