Ionian Sea Facts

Ionian Sea Facts
The Ionian Sea is a bay located south of the Adriatic Sea, in the Mediterranean Sea. It is bordered by southern Italy, Albania, and Greece, which are also its basin countries. All of the major islands located in the Ionian Sea belong to Greece, including Corfu, Lefkada, Ithaca, Zakynthos, and Kephalonia.
Interesting Ionian Sea Facts:
There are several ferry routes crossing the eastern and northern portions of the Ionian Sea.
The deepest point of the Mediterranean Sea is located in the Ionian Sea. It is called Calypso Deep and reaches depths of 17,280 feet.
The Ionian Sea is considered to be one of the world's most seismically active locations.
The largest island of the Ionian Islands is Kefalonia Island.
In ancient times the Ionian Sea was a common setting for battles between Rome and Greece.
The average temperature of the Ionian Sea is 20 degrees Celsius in May and 22 degrees Celsius in October.
Ports along the west coast of the Ionian Sea include Syracuse, Catania, and Messina. Ports along the north coast of the Ionian Sea include Taranto, Himara, and Saranda. Ports along the east include Kerkyra, Igoumenitsa, Parga, Preveza, Astakos, Argostoli, Patra, Kyparissia, and Pylos.
Gulfs and straits of the Ionian Sea include the Laconian Gulf, Strait of Messina, the Messenian Gulf, the Gulf of Catania, the Gulf of Patras, the Gulf of Squillace, Ambracian Gulf, and the Gulf of Kyparissia.
The Ionian name may have been derived from Ionians who sailed from the east. It has been linked to the myth of lo by ancient Greek writers.

Related Links:
Seas Facts
Animals Facts