Marmara Sea Facts

Marmara Sea Facts
The Marmara Sea is an inland sea located entirely within Turkey's borders. It separates Turkey's Asian and European parts by connecting the Black Sea to the Aegean Sea. It does so by connecting the Black Sea to the Marmara Sea via the Bosphorus Strait and the Aegean Sea to the Marmara Sea via the Dardanelles Strait. The Marmara Sea is the world's smallest sea covering only 4,380 square feet.
Interesting Marmara Sea Facts:
The Marmara Sea is named after Marmara Island, derived from the Greek word for marble - marmaron.
The maximum depth of the Marmara Sea is 4,490 feet and the average depth is 1,621 feet.
The salinity of the surface water of the Marmara Sea, at 22 parts per 1000, is slightly higher than the salinity of the Black Sea.
Islands found within Marmara Sea include Marmara Island, Avsa, Imrali, Prince Islands, Pasalimani, and Ekinlik Island.
Settlements along the Marmara Sea include Istanbul, Bursa, Yalova, Canakkale, Balikesir, Tekirdag, and Izmit.
The main rivers flowing into the Marmara Sea include the Simav River, Biga Cayi, and Nilufer River.
The main outflow of water from the Marmara Sea is through the Turkish Straits.
There are several indents along the southern coast of the Marmara Sea, including the Gulf of Gemlik, the Gulf of Bandirma, the Gulf of Izmit, and the Gulf of Erdek.
There are many towns and cities along the coast of the Marmara Sea including Istanbul, Bandirma, Gemlik, Lapseki, Gebze, Sarkoy, Termal and Tuzla.
The 1509 earthquake referred to as the Constantinople earthquake, also referred to as the 'The Lesser Judgment Day' occurred in the Marmara Sea, with a tsunami and 45 days of aftershocks that killed 10,000 people.

Related Links:
Seas Facts
Animals Facts