New York Bay Facts

New York Bay Facts
New York Bay is a term that collectively includes both Upper New Bay and Lower New York Bay, which are connected by the Narrows. Upper New York Bay is sometimes also referred to as New York Harbor and includes the Port of New York and New Jersey. Lower New York Bay opens into the Atlantic Ocean. The two bays are connected by the Narrows, a narrow strait located between Brooklyn and Staten Island.
Interesting New York Bay Facts:
Upper New York Bay is fed by the Hudson River and the Gowanus Canal.
Upper New York Bay contains many famous islands including Liberty Island, Ellis Island, and Governor's Island.
Lower New York Bay is home to two artificial islands that can be found a mile from Staten Island's South Beach. These include Hoffman Island, which was created in 1873, and Swinburne Island, which was originally named Dix Island.
In Upper New York Bay, along the New Jersey Side, a large reef once held one of the world's largest oyster beds, but pollution destroyed it by the end of the 1800s.
There are many lighthouses that have been built in Lower New York Bay, both on the bay and on land. The earliest lighthouse was built during colonial times and is known as the Sandy Hook Light.
Upper New York Bay is home to a variety of marine species. Some of these include Bluefish and striped bass.
Recreational sailing and kayaking are popular in some parts of Upper New York Bay.

Related Links:
Seas Facts
Animals Facts