Scotia Sea Facts

Scotia Sea Facts
The Scotia Sea is located on the Southern Ocean's northern edge where it meets the South Atlantic Ocean. To its west is Drake Passage and to its south, east, and north is the Scotia Arc. The Scotia Sea covers approximately 347,500 square miles and has a maximum depth of 19,757 feet. It was named after the ship Scotia, which explored the waters between 1902 and 1904.
Interesting Scotia Sea Facts:
Approximately half of the Scotia Sea stands above the continental shelf.
The ship which was used to first explore the Scotia Sea was called the Scotia. Its captain was William S. Bruce, of the Scottish National Antarctic Expedition.
In 1916 six men traveled across the frigid waters of the Scotia Sea aboard a lifeboat. They left Elephant Island and two weeks later landed in South Georgia.
The Scotia Sea is considered to be part of Mar Argentino in Argentina. There are several claimed territories in this region.
There are many islands bordering the Scotia Sea including South Georgia, South Sandwich Islands, South Orkney Islands, South Shetland Islands, and Bouvet Island.
Seabirds that can be found in the Scotia Sea include four albatross species, yellow pintail ducks, southern giant petrels, and the South Georgia pipit.
Several penguin species reside on islands in the Scotia Sea including king penguins, rockhopper penguins, Adelie penguins, Gentoo penguins, macaroni penguins, and chinstrap penguins.
Seals that can be found in the Scotia Sea include the Weddell seals, southern elephant seals, crabeater seals, Antarctic fur seals, leopard seals, and sub-Antarctic fur seals.

Related Links:
Seas Facts
Animals Facts