Seto Inland Sea Facts

Seto Inland Sea Facts
The Seto Island is located in the Pacific Ocean, separating three of Japan's four main islands. It serves as a waterway that connects the Sea of Japan to the Pacific Ocean. The Seto Inland Sea is also known as Setouchi, and covers an area of approximately 9,000 square miles.
Interesting Seto Inland Sea Facts:
The Seto Inland Sea separates Honshu, Kyushu, and Shikoku, three of Japan's four main islands.
The climate in the Seto Inland Sea region is moderate and there are low levels of rainfall.
At times there are red tides, which occur as a result of dense plankton groupings. This kills large numbers of fish when it occurs.
The Seto Inland Sea stretches 280 miles from east to west, and its width varies from 10 to 34 miles at different places.
The water of the Seto Inland Sea considered shallow with average depths of 125 feet. The greatest depth is 105 feet.
There are more than 500 marine species known to exist in the Seto Inland Sea. Some of these include the great white shark, finless porpoises, ayu, and horseshoe crabs.
There are close to 3,000 islands located in the Seto Inland Sea.
At one time whales frequented the Set Inland Sea to breed or to feed, but pollution and whaling destroyed this population and they no longer enter the sea unless lost.
There are several cities with industrial activity on the Seto Inland Sea including Kobe, Osaka, and Hiroshima, as well as smaller cities such as Kure, Ube, and Sakaide.

Related Links:
Seas Facts
Animals Facts