Tyrrhenian Sea Facts

Tyrrhenian Sea Facts
The Tyrrhenian Sea is located off the west coast of Italy in the Mediterranean Sea. It was named after Italy's Tyrrhenian people dating to the 6th century BCE. The sea is bordered by Italy's province to the east, the islands of Sardinia and Corsica to the west, and Italy's island of Sicily to its south. The Tyrrhenian Sea covers an area of 106,200 square miles.
Interesting Tyrrhenian Sea Facts:
The Tyrrhenian Sea's name is derived from the Greek name of Prince Tyrrhenus, who led emigrants from Lydia to the coast of Tuscany.
The maximum depth of the Tyrrhenian Sea is 12,418 feet and its average depth is 6,562 feet.
Because of its location near the convergence of the Eurasian and African plates, the Tyrrhenian Sea is home to mountain chains and active volcanoes. The active volcano Mount Marsili is found in the Tyrrhenian Sea.
The Tyrrhenian Sea has four exits including one between Tuscany and Corsica (called the Corsica Channel), one between Corsica and Sardinia (called the Strait of Bonifacio), one between Sardinia and Sicily (not named), and one between Sicily and Calabria (called the Strait of Messina).
The two basins of the Tyrrhenian Basin are divided by an undersea ridge called the Issel Bridge. The two basins are referred to as the Marsili plain and Vavilov plain.
Islands that can be found in the Tyrrhenian Sea include Corsica, Sardinia, Ustica, Capri, Sicily, Ischia, and Elba.
Main ports on the Tyrrhenian Sea include ones in Naples, Palermo, Salerno, Gioia Tauro, Trapani, Rome, Giglio Porto, and Bastia.

Related Links:
Seas Facts
Animals Facts