White Sea Facts

White Sea Facts
The White Sea is located to the south of the Barents Sea, on Russia's northwest coast. It is an inlet, with the Kanin Peninsula to its northeast, the Kola Peninsula to its north, and to its west is Karelia. The White Sea connects to the Barents Sea via the Gorlo, or Throat - a narrow strait. The White Sea is considered to be within Russia's internal waters. Arkhangelsk is a major port on the White Sea, one that had been Russia's main international trade port throughout much of its history. The White Sea is connected to the Baltic Sea via the White Sea-Baltic Canal. There are four seas with color in their name including the White Sea, the Black Sea, the Yellow Sea, and the Red Sea.
Interesting White Sea Facts:
The White Sea was known to exist as far back as the 11th century by the Novgorod people who recognized its coastal forest and navigation importance.
Kholmogory was one of the earliest settlements along the White Sea, established in the late 1300s.
From the 1400s to the 1700s the White Sea was Russia's major trade route. Its use decreased when Saint Petersburg was established in 1703. Saint Petersburg made travel easier because it offered an ice-free route to Western Europe.
Arkhangelsk, once Russia's major trade port, is used today as a submarine and naval base.
The White Sea covers an area of 34,700 square miles, and has an average depth of 197 feet. Its deepest point is 1,115 feet.
The White Sea has four main gulfs and bays including Mezen Bay, Dvina Bay, Onega Bay, and Kandalaksha Gulf.
Kandalaksha Gulf is the deepest part of the White Sea, reaching 1,115 feet.
Major rivers that flow into the White Sea include the Mezen River, the Kuloy River, the Vyg River, the Niva River, the Umba River, the Varzuga River, and the Ponoy River.
There are many small islands in the White Sea. The Solovetsky Islands are the main group, located in the center of the White Sea.
There is a historic monastery located in Kiy Island in Onega Bay.
The largest island in the Kandalaksha Gulf is Velikiy Island.
The White Sea is known to contain more than 700 invertebrate species.
There are roughly 60 species of fish in the White Sea including herring, saffron cod, Atlantic cod, Atlantic salmon, and European Smelt to name a few.
The White Sea is home to five mammal species including the white whale, and the beluga whale.
Visitors to the White Sea include orca whales, humpback whales, bowhead whales, and northern bottlenose whales, as well as several dolphin species.
There is a growing seaweed industry in the White Sea as demand for the product becomes stronger.
The White Sea is located on a continental shelf, with a sea bottom that is badly broken.
The climate of the White Sea region varies, from moderate continental to polar. Fog and clouds are common.
Although very rare the temperatures in the summer have been known to reach 30 degrees Celsius on occasion.

Related Links:
Seas Facts
Animals Facts