Yellow Sea Facts

Yellow Sea Facts
The Yellow Sea is located in the northern region of the East China Sea, between the Korean Peninsula and mainland China. The Yellow Sea is considered to be a marginal sea of the Pacific Ocean. Its northern bay is the Bohai Sea, which was previously referred to as Chihli Bay or Pechihli Bay. Korea Bay is also part of the Yellow Sea's northern region. The Yellow Sea was given its name because of the yellow color of its water. The water turns yellow from sand particles that originate in the Gobi Desert and are washed into the Yellow Sea via the Yellow River and the Hai He River. There are four seas in the world named after colors including the Yellow Sea, the Red Sea, the Black Sea and the White Sea.
Interesting Yellow Sea Facts:
The Yellow Sea covers an area of 150,000 square miles.
The average depth of the Yellow Sea is 144 feet and its maximum depth is 499 feet.
The Yellow Sea extends approximately 600 miles in length and 430 miles wide.
The main rivers flowing into the Yellow Sea include the Yellow River, the Hai River, the Yalu River, the Han River, and the Taedong River.
Countries included in the Yellow Sea's basin are China, North Korea, and South Korea.
The Yellow Sea is believed to have formed when the sea levels rose after the last ice age and flooded a section of the continental shelf.
The bottom of the Yellow Sea is made up of silt and sand that have been washed into it via rivers carrying it from the Gobi Desert.
Major islands found within the waters of the Yellow Sea include Anmado, Baengnyeongdo, Daebudo, Gageodo, Hauido, Hongdo, Jindo, Sido, Wando, and Yeonpyeongdo, among others.
Monsoon season in the Yellow Sea runs from late in November until March each year.
Typhoon season in the Yellow Sea occurs between June and October each year.
There is fog frequently found along the coasts of the Yellow Sea.
In the winter it is not uncommon for drift ice to develop in the northern region of the Yellow Sea.
The Yellow Sea experiences tides twice each day varying from 3 feet to 9.8 feet along China's coast. Along the Korean Peninsula tides vary from 13 feet to 26 feet.
The Yellow Sea is abundant in seaweed, as well as in blue-green algae in the summer.
There are at least 35 species of seabirds that migrate through the Yellow Sea region in large numbers.
The only resident mammal species in the Yellow Sea is the spotted seal.
Species that used to thrive in the Yellow Sea but are no longer present or are only present in small numbers due to pollution or hunting include minke whales, killer whales, finless porpoises, fin whales, gray whales, humpback whales, Japanese sea lions, dugongs, blue whales, and leatherback turtles.
Along the coast of the Yellow Sea the human population is very dense.
There are roughly 200 species of fish being harvested from the Yellow Sea for commercial purposes.

Related Links:
Seas Facts
Animals Facts