Arizona Cardinals Facts

Arizona Cardinals Facts
The Cardinals is the oldest pro-football team in continuous existence in the United States. It was founded in 1898 by the Morgan Athletic Club, and named the Cardinals because of the color of their jerseys. The Cardinals played as the Racine Cardinals from 1898-1919, as the Chicago Cardinals from 1920-1943, as Card-Pitt in 1944, as the Chicago Cardinals from 1945-1959, as the St. Louis Cardinals from 1960-1987, as the Phoenix Cardinals from 1988-1993, and the Arizona Cardinals from 1994 on. The Arizona Cardinals home stadium is the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona and the team is headquartered in Tempe, Arizona.
Interesting Arizona Cardinals Facts:
The Cardinals became a franchise on September 17th, 1920 when they were called the Chicago Cardinals. This made the organization an NFL Charter Member.
The Cardinals won the NFL Championships in 1925 and 1947.
The Arizona Cardinals won the NFC Championships in 2008.
In 1947, and in 1948, the Cardinals won the NFL Western Conference Championships.
In 1974, and in 1975, the Cardinals won the NFC Eastern Division Championships.
The Arizona Cardinals won the NFC West Division Championships in 2008 and 2009.
The team was christened as the Arizona Cardinals in March, 1994.
Uniform numbers that have been retired from the Cardinals include #8 (Larry Wilson), #40 (Pat Tillman), #77 (Stan Mauldin), #88 (J.V. Cain), and #99 (Marshall Goldberg).
The first Cardinal to be elected to the Hall of Fame was FB Ernie Nevers in 1963.
The Cardinals' first winning season was in 1922 with 8 wins and 3 losses.
Ernie Nevers scored all 40 points during a 1929 Thanksgiving Day game when the Cardinals beat the Chicago Bears 40 to 6. This NFL record still stands - nobody has been able to beat it.
In 1932 Charles W. Bidwill bought the Cardinals. William V. Bidwell is the owner and Chairman today. The team ownership has stayed in the family since Charles bought the team in 1932.
The Arizona Cardinals played in the Super Bowl XLIII.
The Cardinals honor their greats in the Cardinals Ring of Honor. The alumni honored in the Ring of Honor include Ernie Nevers (fullback), Charles Bidwill (owner), Jimmy Conzelman (quarterback and coach), Charley Trippi (halfback), John 'Paddy' Driscoll (quarterback), Ollie Matson (halfback), Dick 'Night Train' Lane (cornerback), Dan Dierdorf (tackle), Marshall Goldberg (halfback), Pat Tillman (safety), Larry Wilson (free safety), Roger Wehrli (cornerback), Aeneas Williams (cornerback), and Kurt Warner (quarterback).
Prior to 2006 when the University of Phoenix Stadium became the Cardinals home field, they had several other home fields including Normal Park, Comiskey Park, Soldier Field, Metropolitan Stadium, Busch Stadium, Busch Memorial Stadium, and Sun Devil Stadium.
As of 2014 the Cardinals have played in 9 playoffs: 1947, 1948, 1974, 1975, 1982, 1998, 2008, 2009, and 2014.
The Cardinals' uniform original design had white helmets, and white pants with red stripes and white or red jerseys. Several designs were introduced over the years and in 2010 an alternative black jersey was introduced. Before the black jersey, the Cardinals did not have an alternate jersey and they were the only NFL team without one.

Related Links:
Sports Facts
Animals Facts