Buffalo Bills Facts

Buffalo Bills Facts
The Buffalo Bills are a professional football team that plays in the East Division of the AFC (American Football League) of the NFL. Ralph C. Wilson Jr. was awarded an AFL franchise on October 28th, 1959. The Buffalo Bills began playing competitively in 1960 with the American Football League and joined the NFL in 1970 when the AFL and NFL merger took place. The Buffalo Bills won their first title in 1964 when they beat San Diego in the AFL Championship game. They repeated their victory a year later. The Buffalo Bills have played in four Super Bowls but have yet to win the title.
Interesting Buffalo Bills Facts:
The Buffalo Bills home stadium is Ralph Wilson Stadium in Orchard Park, New York. The stadium is named after the Buffalo Bills' founder and former owner.
Ralph Wilson died in 2014 at the age of 95. He was the oldest NFL team owner in history and the second longest owner of a team after George Halas who owned the Chicago Bears.
The Buffalo Bills were AFL Champions in 1964 and 1965. They were the AFL Eastern Division Champions in 1964, 1965, and 1966.
The Buffalo Bills were the AFC Champions in 1990, 1991, 1992, and 1993. They were the AFC Eastern Division Champions in 1980, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1993, and 1995.
Buffalo Bills quarterback Jim Kelly's uniform number, #12, was the only team number ever retired.
Buffalo Bills' Hall of Fame members include Joe DeLamielleure, Jim Kelly, Marv Levy, Andre Reed, Billy Shaw, O.J. Simpson, Bruce Smith, Thurman Thomas, and Ralph Wilson Jr.
The Buffalo Bills Wall of Fame has existed since 1980 as a way to honor their team members including coaches, administrative personnel and players.
The Buffalo Bills Wall of Fame includes Addie Abramoski, Joe DeLamielleure, Elbert Dubenion, Booker Edgerson, Joe Ferguson, Phil Hanen, Kent Hull, Robert James, Bob Kalsu, Jim Kelly, Jack Kemp, Marv Levy, Patrick J, McGroder, Bill Polian, Andre Reed, Jim Ritcher, George Saimes, Tom Sestak, Billy Shaw, O.J. Simpson, Fred Smerlas, Bruce Smith, Mike Stratton, Darryl Talley, Steve Tasker, Thurman Thomas, and Ralph Wilson.
Terry and Kim Pegula purchased the Buffalo Bills following the team's founder Ralph Wilson in 2014.
The Buffalo Bills have played in four Super Bowls including Super Bowls XXV, XXVI, XXVII, and XXVIII. They lost 20-19 in Super Bowl XXV against the New York Giants. They lost 37-24 in Super Bowl XXVI against the Washington Redskins. They lost 52-17 in Super Bowl XXVII against the Dallas Cowboys. They lost 30-13 in Super Bowl XXVIII against the Dallas Cowboys.
Marv Levy was head coach during all four of the consecutive Buffalo Bills' Super Bowl losses.
The Buffalo Bills uniform colors are red, white, and royal blue.
The Buffalo Bills mascot is Billy Buffalo.
The current (2014) head coach of the Buffalo Bills is Rex Ran; the general manager is Doug Whaley; the president is Russ Brandon; the CEO is Terry Pegula.
Prior to playing at the Ralph Wilson Stadium (1973 - present), the Buffalo Bills played at the War Memorial Stadium (1960 - 1972).

Related Links:
Sports Facts
Animals Facts