Chicago Bears Facts

Chicago Bears Facts
The Chicago Bears are a professional football team playing in the North Division of the NFC (National Football League) of the NFL. The team and professional football itself were founded by George Halas in 1920 and at the time was named the Decatur Staleys. The Bears won the championship in 1921, under the team name the Chicago Staleys. In 1922 the franchise was renamed the Chicago Bears. Team headquarters are located in Halas Hall, in Lake Forest, Illinois and their home field is Soldier Field in Chicago, Illinois. The team has enjoyed much success, winning many league championships and beating the New England Patriots 46-10 in Super Bowl XX.
Interesting Chicago Bears Facts:
The Chicago Bears were originally called the Decatur Staleys, in Decatur, Illinois. The team moved to Chicago, Illinois in 1921, and was renamed the Chicago Staleys. The name was once again changed, to the Chicago Bears, in 1922.
32 of the 287 inductees into the Pro Football Hall of Fame made most of their contribution to professional football with the Chicago Bears.
Former Chicago Bears player Doug Atkins was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1982. He played for the Cleveland browns from 1953 to 1954, the Chicago Bears from 1955 to 1966, and the New Orleans Saints from 1967 to 1969.
Other Chicago Bears Hall of Fame members include George Blanda, Dick Butkus, Guy Chamberlin, George Connor, Jimmy Conzelman, Richard Dent, Mike Ditka, John Driscoll, Jim Finks, Dan Fortman, Bill George, Harold Grange, George Halas, Dan Hampton, Ed Healey, Bill Hewitt, Stan Jones, Walt Kiesling, Bobby Layne, Sid Luckman, William R, Lyman, George McAfee, George Musso, Bronko Nagurski, Alan Page, Walter Page, Gale Sayers, Mike Singletary, Joe Stydahar, George Trafton, and Bulldog Turner.
The Chicago Bears moved to Wrigley Field in 1922, where they played until moving to Soldier Field in 1971. In 2002 the Chicago Bears played at Memorial Stadium while the new Soldier Field was being built. In 2003 the Chicago bears moved to the New Soldier Field and have played there since.
Soldier Field was designed in 1919 in memorial to WWI soldiers. It opened in 1924. The Chicago Bears did not call Soldier Field their home field until 1971.
The Chicago Bears have retired 14 player's numbers including #3 (Bronko Nagurski, #5 (George McAfee), #7 George Halas, #28 (Willie Galimore), #34 (Walter Payton), #40 (Gale Sayers), #41 (Brian Piccolo), #42 (Sid Luckman), #51 (Dick Butkus), #56 (Bill Hewitt), #61 (Bill George), #66 (Clyde 'Bulldog' Turner), #77 (Harold 'Red' Grange), and #89 (Mike Ditka).
The Chicago Bears' team colors are navy blue, burnt orange, and white.
The Chicago Bears' team mascot is Staley Da Bear.
The owner of the Chicago Bears today is Virginia Halas McCaskey. The chairman is George McCaskey; the president is Ted Phillips; the general manager is Ryan Pace and the head coach is John Fox.
The Chicago Bears have won 9 league championships. Prior to the AFL-NFL merger in 1970, the Chicago Bears won the league championships in 1921, 1932, 1933, 1940, 1941, 1943, 1946, and 1963, and they went on to win Super Bowl XX after the merger.

Related Links:
Sports Facts
Animals Facts