Cincinnati Bengals Facts

Cincinnati Bengals Facts
The Cincinnati Bengals are a professional football team playing in the North Division of the AFC (American Football Conference) of the NFL. The team was established in 1968 by Paul Brown, the former head coach of the Cleveland Browns. The name the Cincinnati Bengals had been used before from 1937 to 1941. Paul Brown and an ownership group were granted the franchise in 1967 and the team played its first game in 1968. Paul Brown was the head coach of the Cincinnati Bengals from the time of the team's inception until 1975. He stayed on as the president of the Cincinnati Bengals until he passed away in 1991.
Interesting Cincinnati Bengals Facts:
The Cincinnati Bengals Hall of Fame includes members Chris Collinsworth, who retired as the club's all-time leading receiver, Tim Krumrie, Ken Riley, Paul Brown, Anthony Munoz, Ken Anderson, Isaac Curtis, and Boomer Esiason.
Cincinnati Bengals members who have been honored as inductees into the Pro Football Hall of Fame include Paul Brown, Forrest Gregg, Charlie Joiner, Dick LeBeau, and Anthony Munoz. Anthony Munoz made his major contribution to pro football while playing for the Cincinnati Bengals.
The Cincinnati Bengals franchise was granted on May 23rd, 1967.
The Cincinnati Bengals first season was 1968.
The Cincinnati Bengals won the AFC Championships in 1981 and in 1988.
The Cincinnati Bengals won the AFC Central Division Championships in 1970, 1973, 1981, 1988, and 1990.
The AFC North Division Championships were won by the Cincinnati Bengals in 2005, 2009, and in 2013.
The Cincinnati Bengals first draft pick was Bob Johnson in 1968.
The first regular season game played by the Cincinnati Bengals resulted in a loss to the San Diego Chargers of 29-13.
The Cincinnati Bengals first regular season win was against the Denver Broncos with a final score of 24-10.
The Cincinnati Bengals first winning season was in 1970.
The Cincinnati Bengals played at Nippert Stadium from 1968 to 1969, at Riverfront Stadium from 1970 to 1999, and at Paul Brown Stadium from 2000 until present.
The Cincinnati Bengals had 13 Playoff appearances (as of 2014) including the years 1970, 1973, 1975, 1981, 1982, 1988, 1990, 2005, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014.
The team colors for the Cincinnati Bengals are black, orange, and white. The original team uniform was modeled after Paul Brown's former employer's team the Cleveland Browns. When Paul was fired by Art Model, the owner of the Cleveland Browns, Paul took all the equipment with him because he owned it. He then used it with his new team the Cincinnati Bengals.
The team mascot for the Cincinnati Bengals is Who Dey, a Bengal tiger.
The current Cincinnati Bengals owner and president is Mike Brown, and the current (2014) head coach is Marvin Lewis.
The Cincinnati Bengals' cheerleaders are called the Cincinnati Ben-Gals.
Bob Johnson, the first Cincinnati Bengals draft pick was player number 54. His number was retired in 1978.
Former coaches of the Cincinnati Bengals include Paul Brown, Bill Johnson, Homer Rice, Forrest Gregg, Sam Wyche, Dave Shula, Bruce Coslet, and Dick LeBeau.

Related Links:
Sports Facts
Animals Facts