Cleveland Browns Facts

Cleveland Browns Facts
The Cleveland Browns are a professional football team playing in the North Division of the AFC (American Football Conference) of the NFL. The team was established in 1946 by Arthur B. McBride and Paul Brown as chartered members of the AAFC (All-American Football Conference). The AAFC shut down in 1949 and the Cleveland Browns joined the NFL winning a championship in their first season. The team suspended operations from 1996 to 1998 when the owner Art Modell, tried to move the team to Baltimore and met with legal threats. Instead he kept the team's intellectual property in trust and in 1999 the Cleveland Browns resumed playing in the NFL.
Interesting Cleveland Browns Facts:
The current owner (2014) of the Cleveland Browns is Jimmy Haslam. The president is Alec Scheiner, the general manager is Ray Farmer, and the head coach is Mike Pettine.
The Cleveland Browns team colors are seal brown, burnt orange, and white.
The Cleveland Browns team mascots include Chomps, Swagger, and Brownie the Elf.
The Cleveland Browns won the AAFC Championships in 1946, 1947, 1948, and 1949. They also won the NFL Championships in 1950, 1954, 1955, and 1964.
The Cleveland Browns won the NFL American Conference Championships in 1950, 1951, and 1952. They won the NFL Eastern Conference Championships in 1953-1955, 1957, 1964, 1965, 1968, and 1969.
The Cleveland Browns won the AAFC Western Division Championships in 1946-1949; they won the NFL Century Division Championships in 1967-1969, and the AFC Central Division Championships in 1971, 1980, 1985, 1986, 1987, and 1989.
The Cleveland browns appeared in the AAFC Playoffs from 1946 to 1949. They have appeared in the NFL Playoffs in the years 1950-1955, 1957, 1958, 1964, 1965, 1967-1969, 1971, 1972, 1980, 1982, 1985-1989, 1994, and 2002.
The Cleveland Browns home field was Cleveland Municipal Stadium from 1946 to 1995. They have played at the Cleveland Browns Stadium, known today as the FirstEnergy Stadium, in Cleveland, Ohio, since 1999.
The Cleveland Browns are headquartered in the Cleveland Browns Training and Administrative Complex in Berea, Ohio.
There are currently 16 Cleveland Browns in the Pro Football Hall of Fame including Jim Brown (fullback), Len Ford (defensive end), Lou Groza (offensive tackle, placekicker), Dante Lavelli (wide receiver), Marion Motley (fullback), Paul Brown (head coach), Frank Gatski (offensive center), Gene Hickerson (offensive guard), Mike McCormack (offensive tackle), Ozzie Newsome (tight end), Bill Willis (middle guard, offensive guard), Lou DeLanielleure (offensive guard), Otto Graham (quarterback), Leroy Kelly (running back), Bobby Mitchell (wide receiver, halfback), and Paul Warfield (wide receiver).
Other members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame who played with the Cleveland Browns at least part of their career include Doug Atkins, Willie Davis, Len Dawson, Henry Jordan, Chuck Noll, Don Shula, and Tommy McDonald.
Two coaches in the Pro Football Hall of Fame who spent part of their careers with the Cleveland browns include Forrest Gregg (1975-1977) and Paul Brown (1946-1962).
The Cleveland Browns Ring of Honor includes Jim Brown, Paul Brown, Joe DeLamielleure, Len Ford, Frank Gatski, Otto Graham, Lou Groza, Gene Hickerson, Leroy Kelly, Dante Lavelli, Mike McCormack, Bobby Mitchell, Marion Motley, Ozzie Newsome, Paul Warfield, and Bill Willis.

Related Links:
Sports Facts
Animals Facts