Green Bay Packers Facts

Green Bay Packers Facts
The Green Bay Packers are a professional football team that plays in the North Division of the National Football Conference (NFC). The Green Bay Packers are the third-oldest NFL franchise, established in 1919. The Green Bay Packers are the only non-profit, professional major league team in the United States, and are owned by the community. The team was founded by Earl "Curly" Lambeau and George Whitney Calhoun. The team is so popular with fans that season tickets have been sold out since 1960. The Green Bay Packers have won the Super Bowl several times.
Interesting Green Bay Packers Facts:
The current wait time for season tickets is 40 years. The waiting list is approximately 83,881 names long.
The Green Bay Packers won the Super Bowl in 1966 (I), 1967 (II), 1996 (XXXI), and 2010 (XLV).
Prior to the 1970 AFL and NFL merger the Green Bay Packers won the NFL Championships 11 times, including the years 1929, 1930, 1931, 1936, 1939, 1944, 1961, 1962, 1965, 1966, and 1967.
The Green Bay Packers have played in 30 Playoff seasons to 2014 including 1936, 1938, 1939, 1941, 1944, 1960 - 1962, 1965 - 1967, 1972, 1982, 1993 - 1998, 2001 - 2004, 2007, 2009 - 2014.
The Green Bay Packers home field was Hagemeister Park from 1919 to 1922, Bellevue Park from 1923 to 1924, City Stadium from 1925 to 1956, and Lambeau Field from 1957 to present.
The Green Bay Packers had a total of 13 coaches in the 20th century including Curly Lambeau (1921-1949), Gene Ronzan (1950 - 1953), Hugh Devore (1953), Ray McLean (1953 & 1958), Lisle Blackbourn (1954 - 1957), Vince Lombardi (1959 - 1967), Phil Bengtson (1968 - 1970), Dan Devine (1971 - 1974), Bart Starr (1975 - 1983), Forrest Gregg (1984 - 1987), Lindy Infante (1988 - 1991), Mike Holmgren (1992 - 1998), and Ray Rhodes (1999).
Four former Green Bay Packers team members had their numbers retired in the 20th century including Tony Canadea (#3) in 1952, Ray Nitchke (#66) in 1983, Bart Starr (#15) in 1973, and Don Hutson (#14) in 1951. The NFL doesn't like numbers to be retired so in order to honor Reggie White the Packers retired his jersey in 1999 and not his number, which was #92.
Reggie White was the first free agent ever signed by the Green Bay Packers. At the time Reggie was the most wanted free agent.
The Green Bay Packers first draft choice was Russ Letlow, in 1936. He was later inducted into the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame, in 1972.
Vince Lombardi was the coach of the Green Bay Packers when they won the Super Bowl in 1966 and 1967.
The NFL Super Bowl trophy is named the Vince Lombardi Trophy.
Members of the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame include 153 individuals. Some of the members include Curly Lambeau, Don Hutson, Russ Letlow, Vince Lombardi, Max McGee, Forrest Gregg, Greg Koch and Ahman Green.
Many Green Bay Packers members have been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame including Curly Lambeau, Robert Hubbard, Don Hutson, Johnny Blood McNally, Clarke Hinkle, Vince Lombardi, and many more.

Related Links:
Sports Facts
Animals Facts