Civil War Union Flag Facts

Civil War Union Flag Facts
The Civil War Union flag was the basic stars and stripes design, but changes to the number of states also meant changes to the number of stars. The Union flag had 33 stars at the beginning of the Civil War, and by the end of the war there were 35 official stars on the flag. The Civil War began on April 12th, 1861 and ended on April 9th, 1865. The original flag was adopted by the United States on June 14th, 1777, with thirteen red and white horizontal stripes. When the Civil War began the star pattern on the Union Flag was not official, so a variety of designs emerged over the course of the war. Until 1912 when Arizona became a state an official star pattern was not made official.
Interesting Civil War Union Flag Facts:
The thirteen stripes on the Union Flag represented the thirteen original states including Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Virginia.
At the start of the Civil War the Union Flag had no official star pattern. People designed them as they preferred, resulting a variety of star designs. Some flags had the stars in a star pattern, a flower design, and a round pattern.
A popular flag design during the Civil War was the 'Great Star', also called the 'Grand Luminary'.
Another popular flag design during the Civil War was the 'Great Flower' design which resembled a star but with star points that looked like flower petals.
Another popular flag design during the Civil War was the 'Round Pattern' that had the stars in a circular pattern like that of the original 'Betsy Ross Flag'.
Some of the round flag designs looked like a wagon wheel.
The 'Snowflake Flag' design arranged the stars in a snowflake cluster pattern, and although popular at the time, nobody really knew what the snowflake signified.
In addition to the Union Flag, each regiment carried a Union battle flag. The battle flags were designed by their own regiments and many incorporated an eagle.
When the Civil War began there were 33 stars representing the 33 states including Kansas, Oregon, Minnesota, California, Wisconsin, Iowa, Texas, Florida, Michigan, Arkansas, Missouri, Alabama, Maine, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Mississippi, Ohio, Tennessee, Vermont, Kentucky, Virginia, South Carolina, Rhode Island, Pennsylvania, North Carolina, New York, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Maryland, Georgia, Delaware, and Connecticut.
Nicknames for the American flag include 'Old Glory', 'The Star-Spangled Banner', and the 'Stars and Stripes'.
Since its original design the American flag has been changed 26 times.
During the Civil War many African Americans were able to view the American Flag as a symbol of freedom for the first time. African Americans were able to join the ranks of the Union army and slavery was abolished. In the South however the flag was suddenly seen as a threat to their way of life.
By the end of the Civil War both Kansas and West Virginia had joined the Union. Nevada joined just after the war ended.

Related Links:
US History Facts
Animals Facts
USA History Facts for Kids
Arizona State
Civil War - Battle of Fort Donelson Facts
Memorial Day Facts
Battle of Fort Henry Facts
Star Spangled Banner Facts
Missouri Facts
Virginia Facts
Kentucky Facts