Kentucky Facts

Kentucky Facts
The State of Kentucky is located in the east south-central United States. Kentucky, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts and Virginia are the four states that make up a commonwealth. Kentucky shares state borders with seven states including Virginia, West Virginia, Tennessee, Missouri, Ohio, Indiana and Illinois. Kentucky is the 37th largest U.S. state with 40,409 square miles. It is the 26th most populated state and is ranked as the 22nd most densely populated state with 4,395,295 residents. Native Americans inhabited the region for centuries, but by the time the European settlers arrived the Native Americans no longer lived in the area. Although Kentucky was originally part of Virginia, Kentucky became the 15th state to join the Union in 1792.
Interesting Kentucky Facts:
The word Kentucky originates from the Iroquois word 'Ken-tah-ten' which means the 'land of tomorrow'.
The first region west of the Allegheny Mountains to be settled by pioneers was Kentucky's area.
The first permanent settlement was Harrodsburg, established by James Harrod in 1774.
Daniel Boone explored Kentucky's region in 1767, creating the Wilderness Trail as he went. He then was responsible for founding Boonesboro.
During the Civil War, Kentucky was stuck in the middle, and supplied troops to both the Confederate and Union armies.
Kentucky's state nickname is the 'Bluegrass State'.
The Kentucky state motto is 'United We Stand, Divided We Fall'.
Kentucky's state slogan is "Unbridled Spirit'.
The Kentucky state song is 'My Old Kentucky Home', written by Stephen Foster.
Kentucky state flag was not finalized until 1928, but was changed again in 1962.
Kentucky's capital city is Frankfort, and its largest city is Louisville.
Kentucky residents are Kentuckians.
Kentucky's major agriculture includes tobacco, wheat, corn and peanuts.
Kentucky's industry includes mining, whiskey manufacturing, auto and truck manufacturing, horse-raising and the manufacture of chemicals.
85% of the mineral income in Kentucky is derived from coal.
Former President Abraham Lincoln was born in Larue County (formerly Hardin County) in 1809. He was the 16th President of the United States. He served from 1861 until 1865.
Kentucky's major lakes include Lake Barkley, Kentucky Lake and Lake Cumberland.
Kentucky's major rivers include Green River, Ohio River, Mississippi River, and Cumberland River.
Kentucky has 120 counties, 5 state forests and 52 state parks.
The Kentucky Derby is held on the first Saturday in May at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky each year. It is the oldest annual horse race held in the United States.
The largest fireworks display in the world is also the opening ceremony for the Kentucky Derby. The fireworks display is called 'Thunder Over Louisville'.
Kentucky is the 8th national leader in cattle in the United States, and also the leading cattle producing state east of the Mississippi River.
The Boy Scouts of America Scouting Museum is located on Murray State University's campus, in Murray, Kentucky.
Colonel Sanders' first Kentucky Fried Chicken restaurant was opened in Corbin, Kentucky by the Colonel himself.
The covered bridge capital of Kentucky is Fleming County.
The song 'Happy Birthday' was written by two sisters from Louisville, Kentucky in 1893.

Related Links:
US States Facts
Animals Facts