The Seven Continents

A continent is a large mass of land separated by the oceans of the world. The United States is on the continent called North America, which also includes Canada and Mexico. North America is between two oceans, the Atlantic and Pacific Ocean.

In all, there are seven continents that make up the surface of the Earth. A continent is not like a state or country. There is not a president or mayor of a continent. Continents are the places that contain land, countries, forests, mountains, lakes, rivers, people, animals, plants, deserts, and everything else on Earth.

The largest continent in land and with over 3 billion people is Asia, located in the Northern Hemisphere. The Great Wall of China and Mt. Everest is located on this continent. It includes fifty-one other countries too, such as India, Japan, South Korea, Vietnam, parts of Russia.

The second largest of the seven continents in the world is Africa, in the Southern Hemisphere. The continent contains Egypt, Kenya, Ethiopia, Algeria, Nigeria, South Africa, Morocco, and about 47 other countries. Major landmarks on the continent include the Sahara Desert, which covers about 1/3 of the surface, and the Nile River, the longest river in the world at 4,258 miles. Africa is also home to some the fastest animals in the world including the cheetah (up to 75 mph), wildebeest, lion, and gazelle.

North America is the 3rd largest continent, with the 3rd longest river in the world, the Mississippi River at 2,320 miles. Besides Mexico, Canada, and the Unites States, the continent is home to a total of 23 countries, which includes Cuba, Costa Rica, Puerto Rico, Jamaica, Haiti, Greenland, the Central American countries and many others. The largest freshwater lake, Lake Superior, is also a part of North America on the border of the U.S. and Canada.

Next comes South America, where the longest mountain range in the world is located, the Andes Mountain range, which is about 4,500 miles long. They run along the western coast of the continent, which includes the countries of Brazil, Peru, Argentina, Chile, Ecuador, and 10 others. The Amazon Rain Forest is also in South America. Except for Brazil, Spanish is the official language throughout the continent.

The continent of Antarctica's is mostly covered in ice, only 2% of it is not frozen. There is zero population, and only scientists or visitors can be found on the continent. It is the windiest and coldest place on the Earth and there are no countries on the continent.

The second smallest continent is Europe, and it also contains the smallest country, Vatican City. There are 50 countries in Europe including the United Kingdom, Germany, Ireland, Turkey, Greece, Spain, Italy, and many others. Two landmarks on the continent include the Eifel Tower in France and the Big Ben clock tower in London, England.

Finally, the smallest continent in the world is Australia, and it is unique because it is also a country, the only country making up the continent. English is the language of Australia, and it is home to the kangaroo. The native people of Australia are called Aborigines. When people say 'Down Under' or the Outback, they are referring to Australia.

In summary, the seven continents from largest to smallest include Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe, and Australia.

A: Arctic and Atlantic Oceans
B: Pacific and Atlantic Oceans
C: Indian and Pacific Oceans
D: Atlantic and Indian Oceans

A: Africa
B: Europe
C: South America
D: Australia

A: Australia
B: South America
C: Antarctica
D: Asia

A: Andes Mountains in South America
B: Mississippi River in North America
C: Nile River in Africa
D: Great Wall of China in Asia

A: Asia
B: Europe
C: North America
D: Antarctica

A: Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe, Australia
B: North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe, Asia, Australia, Africa
C: Africa, Australia, North America, South America, Asia, Europe, Antarctica
D: Australia, Europe, Antarctica, South America, North America, Africa, Asia

To link to this The Seven Continents page, copy the following code to your site: