American Revolution Facts

American Revolution Facts
When thirteen American colonies decided that they would form a nation independent of the British Empire in 1765, a political battle began. The fight for independence would also result in the American Revolutionary War that began in 1775 and ended in 1783. Although there were many factors leading to the fight for independence from the British, a major factor was Great Britain's expectation that the colonies contribute financially via imposed taxes on certain goods, without being allowed any representation in Parliament. The taxes were meant to pay back some of the debt that Britain incurred during the French and Indian War, when Britain managed to secure more territory for the colonies. On September 3rd, 1783, Great Britain and the United States signed the Peace Treaty of Paris that brought an end to the conflict.
Interesting American Revolution Facts:
The 13 colonies that declared independence from Great Britain included Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, North Carolina, New York, Virginia, New Hampshire, South Carolina, Maryland, Massachusetts Bay, Connecticut, Georgia, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Delaware.
The American Revolution is also often referred to as the Revolutionary War.
The events that led up to the Revolutionary War began with the Stamp Act of 1765, the Boston Massacre of 1770, the Boston Tea Party and the Intolerable Acts of 1774.
The war began between American Patriots and British soldiers in Massachusetts, with battles at Lexington and Concord.
At the beginning of the war there was no central government for the 13 colonies so delegates from each colony were sent to establish the first Continental Congress in 1774.
The Commander in Chief of the Continental Army was George Washington, appointed in 1775.
The military conflicts began in 1775 and lasted until 1783.
The Continental Congress signed the Declaration of Independence on July 4th, 1776, one year after the war began, officially declaring independence from Great Britain.
In 1775, the Olive Branch Petition was offered to Great Britain in an attempt to reconcile, but it failed.
British soldiers got the nickname Redcoats because of the color of their uniforms. American soldiers did not have an official uniform and often wore civilian clothes during battle.
25,000 Americans died during the Revolution; approximately 17,000 died from sickness and other non-conflict causes, and approximately 8,000 died during battle.
The weapons used during the war included cannons, swords, axes, tomahawks, bayonets, knives, long rifles, rifles, pistols and muskets.
The Dutch, Spain and France supplied the revolutionary soldiers with ammunition, supplies and weapons.
The major battles of the war included The Battle of Lexington, The Battle of Concord, The Siege of Boston, Battle of Fort Ticonderoga, The Battle of Chelsea Creek, The Battle of Bunker Hill, The Battle of Quebec, The Battle of Sullivan's Island, The Battle of White Plains, The Battle of Fort Washington, The Battle of Trenton, The Battle of Princeton, The Battle of Oriskany, The Battle of Bennington, The Battle of Brandywine, The Battles of Saratoga, The Battle of Germantown, The Battle of Monmouth, The Siege of Savannah, The Siege of Charleston, The Battle of Camden, The Battle of King's Mountain, The Battle of Cowpens, Battle of Guilford Courthouse and The Battle Of Yorkton.
Great Britain had almost every advantage to defeat the Americans, yet America managed to gain their independence.
George Washington would go on to become the first United States president in 1789.

Related Links:
History Facts
Animals Facts
War of 1812 Timeline